Meet My New LOVE, Cuban Oregano!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~cuban oregano
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
There’s something even more wonderful about a co-op exchange than getting free produce in abundance, eating whole healthy homegrown/homemade foods, or meeting new friends … and that’s falling in love with a fruit, veggie and/or herb that you’ve never heard of or tasted before.  For me, that happened recently, it was love at first sight and CUBAN OREGANO won my affection!
 
 
‘Huh,’ you ask, you’ve got a crush on an herb?   Well…uhm…the answer is yes!  It seems to happen every once in a while, someone will contribute something unknown and the energy surrounding the newbie brings a fresh perspective.  I am fascinated!  I literally feel elated!  I mean really, what’s not to love?  It’s got soft thick fuzzy fleshy leaves and each one is super-duper deliciously aromatic!  
 
 
The resume of this amazing herb is vast and even packs a few interesting surprises regarding its heritage ~  like the fact that Cuban Oregano is neither Cuban, nor Oregano!  It is actually of Middle Eastern origin, and is a member of the Mint family!  My online research reveals that the leaves are used not only for their culinary seasoning in Caribbean, Indian, Malaysian (and now American) protein and veggie dishes, but it also has many medicinal purposes as well!  It can be made into a tea for respiratory challenges and digestive issues or mixed with sugar and boiled down into syrup for coughs and sore throats.
 
Another attraction is that it is a succulent herb which can reach up 10-20 inches in height.  In many gardens it is grown for its appearance more than its use… yet another reason to let this beauty be a star if you’re attempting to be the proud owner of an edible landscape!
 
 
I’ve read that I should consider myself lucky to have met this wonderful Cuban cutie, and to that I say… “I DO!”  Apparently it’s a rare find; and now that I have found it, I am never going to let it go.   This is a long-term commitment, and fortunately, it loves to propagate so my prediction is we’ve got a beautiful future together!
 
 
So I’m going to crush it, chop it, marinade it, stew it, boil it, bake it & propagate it!   Then REPEAT + SHARE with friends at a produce cooperative exchange and watch someone else fall in love with it too!
 cuban oregano2
 
Sending you all Love,
Shannon
2 responses to “Meet My New LOVE, Cuban Oregano!

  1. Hi! My name is Laurie G, I live in Long Beach, and I subscribed in late December, but have not received the email saying where the meetup is taking place, which is happening Saturday, January 10th, day after tomorrow! I sure hope you get this email!
    Thanks, Laurie

  2. Laurie, thank you so much for writing! I do see that you commented on this blog but I don’t see that I added you to the email list, I am so sorry! I will do that now and send you the invite asap! Please reply to the email and let me know what you have to contribute tomorrow and I’ll send you all the details.

    Shannon 🙂

Leave a Reply

