7 Days Away from Exchange No 2!

I find it AMAZING that it was only a month-and-a-half ago I wrote an email to a magazine editor to ask about freelance writing opportunities.  She sent me a vast amount of information, but my 3-E (third-eye) Vision linked to one specific topic in particular, the reference to the “new writer contributions column” called “City of Angels” featuring articles about what’s going on in communities around us.  I didn’t know why, but I couldn’t waste a moment, I felt compelled to go check out the online magazine and read the City of Angels column immediately!   What I found was a back-issue article called, “There IS such thing as a FREE lunch!”  I felt the synchronicity when I read the title, and my feelings were excitedly confirmed when I finished the article – the community produce-trading project/idea I had dreamed about and built a garden for  is alive, well and kickin’ up its fertile soil in LA County!!  I clicked on a link to the group’s blog page (hillsideproducecooperative.com)  and was greeted kindly via words of a lady named Hynden.   ‘She must have received the idea from the Universal matrix as well,’ an awesome coincidence, I thought!   This was WONDERFUL news!  I  clicked on her email link and proceeded to inquire about the local group in Long Beach that was seemingly in a perpetual “pending” stage.

I was feeling impatient awaiting the reply, so in the meantime I decided to take her (blog-written) advice and start sending out emails to family members and friends who I thought might be interested in a group of our own.   By the time I had received Hillside Hynden’s reply I had a handful of names on my list with the items they grow.  When I read, “Shannon, There are people in your area interested, but no one has actually started a group…”  I said, “YES!  Okay, I’m soooo on it!”

Within the following week, I named the group Garden Angels after all of the people who had shown up in the right place at the right time to help me build, grow, and share my garden – I had referred to them many times as “my garden angels.”   Without these angels of the past, as well as the angels of the present and future, I wouldn’t even be able to consider doing this so I knew I had to make this about them!

I continued to receive member requests to the tune of about  2 per day, and by the time our very  first Produce Exchange in March rolled up, we had 25 members and 15 actual participants!   Wow, huh?! I’ve been blown away by the support and good energy that has surrounded this group and its’ kind-hearted exchanges of bountiful treasures produced by hard work, care and love of the spirits behind it.

So here we are… 7 days away from Exchange No. 2!     A feeling of anticipation, joy and excitement are finding their divine-right  places inside of me.   I’m preparing to facilitate what I’m predicting to be a second gloriously fun-filled, healthy-minded community contribution endeavor, not only of trade, but positive energy and love… which, my friends, is the point of it all.

Peace & Love, Shannon

 

My Garden Phase 1:  The Universe sent Angels to help build this…

 

My Garden Phase 2:  Now I have grown all of this….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

My Garden Phase 3:  The “Expansion!”…

is under Construction…

pictures will be coming soon.


4 responses to “7 Days Away from Exchange No 2!

  1. Site is looking good! As well as your garden!

    • Thanks for getting it started Sheila!! That was a huge part, and I was intimidated by the thought of a blog, but once I had time and just started reading and applying to the foundation you had initialized I had so much fun customizing it to be a fun site that I felt reflected the movement. It’s still a work-in-progress, and maybe it will always be because it’s based on a give-and-take energy. I hope people like it, and I’m especially happy you like it! 🙂

  2. I’m jealous of all the room you have to garden in! Congrats on the start of the co-op. I’m looking forward to participating again!

Leave a Reply

